Just another WordPress.com site

Groundhog’s Day

I like routines, but lately my life feels like Groundhog’s Day. Not the anticipated February 2nd event where the groundhog predicts six more weeks of winter or an early spring. I’m talking about the 1993 movie Groundhog’s Day starring Bill Murray, where he plays a weatherman who repeats the same day over and over.

This is my life. The monotony and predictability is driving me crazy. No matter how much I mentally prepare myself for the next day, I’m still overwhelmed with the frustration and exhaustion it brings.

Part one: “The chase”

Every morning is a challenge to get the boys ready for school. There is no way in hell they would have been ready for the bus at 8:15am. Even with our later drop-off time of 9:10am, I’m still scrambling to get them out of the house. I’ve tried picture boards, bribing, you name it. Getting dressed is the worst part. I’m trying to help them become more independent but if I waited until they dressed themselves, we would never make it out of the house. I chase them around, hurdling furniture, with every second my blood pressure rising. When I finally tackle what seems like a little man, I quickly start the process. They don’t cooperate; they kick, they giggle, they think it’s funny. It’s NOT funny. If I’m not quick enough, they will get away, and repeat “The chase”.

Part two: “The garage”

Once we’re in the garage, another chase begins around the car. I have to attempt football-like juke moves in order to catch them. Once I grab one, I pick them up. My back screams out. I can feel the strain. There’s no doubt at some point I will need to see a chiropractor – any recommendations for a good one? Once both are secured, I settle in the driver’s seat, take a few deep breaths, and calm down.

Part three:  Lunch time

After school, I have exactly 1 hour to make lunch, serve lunch, pack bags/snacks, change the boys, repeat “the chase” and “the garage” and make it to CARD by 1pm.

Driving is another wonderful everyday event. As much as I drive, I’m pretty sure I can add taxi-cab driver to my resume. I also have severe anxiety about being late, which means I usually go a few miles over the speed limit. Don’t worry, I already have my speech prepared when I get pulled over…“I’m sorry officer, I’m trying to get my autistic twin boys to speech therapy on time”…do you think it will work?

I’ve been told things get easier. Until then, I can’t wait for February 3rd.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

