Just another WordPress.com site

Giving Thanks

Thanksgiving wasn’t any different than last year. I inhaled my food, barely held a conversation lasting longer than a minute, and by 5pm I was absolutely exhausted. This year I took a much needed break from hosting. My house is big enough; my dining room table is not. I also didn’t have the time or energy to clean, cook, decorate, entertain, and clean again. I’m lucky to have family close by and they didn’t mind me passing the torch.

This year on Facebook, I took the 22 days of Thankfulness challenge. Each day I posted something I was thankful for. Here are a few…

Day 1: I’m thankful for being able to eat my salad in peace, without the boys stealing all of my croutons.

Day 5: I’m thankful for chocolate: white, dark, milk, with or without nuts. I don’t discriminate. I love it all!

Day 9: I’m thankful for Bombay Sapphire and tonic with 2 limes. After the day I’ve had, I could use a few…

Day 10: I’m thankful for being able to sleep-in. So what if it’s only until 8am. I look forward to this alllll week. Thanks hubby for making this possible!

Day 13: I’m thankful for my free time. After 3 long years I am finally able to take a shower lasting longer than 3 minutes, shave my entire leg, blow dry my hair and flat iron, apply make-up, eat a meal uninterrupted, and an array of other wonderful things for which I took for granted before kids.

Day 14: I’m thankful for early intervention and the teachers and therapists who have made and will continue to make a difference in Alex and Aden’s lives. Words cannot express my gratitude.

Day 15: I’m thankful for stain resistant carpet and furniture. Yes, we’re having success with potty training but accidents happen.

Day 18: I’m thankful for bedtime. Not mine, Aden and Alex’s bedtime. No explanation needed.

I’ve had more bad days recently due to the fact Aden and Alex are becoming more physical and more exhausting. My patience is running thin, or at this point may not exist at all, some days the glass is empty…not half empty or half full, just empty. But when the dust settles and I can see clearly, I have a TON to be thankful for. Aden and Alex are healthy, Jon and I are healthy. Aden and Alex are happy, Jon and I are happy. Health and happiness are two things that cannot be bought and most people take for granted. These are two things I’m truly thankful for.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

